

Airport Transit Visa

The vast majority of foreign travelers benefit from the "transit privilege" - if during a stopover at a German airport, you do not leave the International Airport Area and if the destination is not in a Schengen country, you do not need a transit visa.

However, if for some reason you need to enter the Schengen area during your stopover (for example to change terminals or if the destination is in a Schengen country), you may require a visa; please plan for this. You should apply for a visa well before you travel!

Only five airports in Germany have an International Transit Area:

- 1. Berlin Brandenburg
- 2. Düsseldorf (transit only possible between 6:00 am and 9:00 pm and only if the airline has arranged the transit with airport security, please check with your airline)
- 3. Frankfurt/Main
- 4. Hamburg (limited time frame only from 4:30 am to 11:30 pm)
- 5. Munich

The airport transit privilege does not apply and you will need a visitor visa if

- 1. you have to pick up your baggage and/or have to check in again (please verify with your airline).
- 2. you are transiting through two or more airports in the Schengen countries (for example: Miami-Frankfurt-Paris-India).
- 3. you hold an open ticket.

Nationals of the following countries do not have the transit privilege and therefore require an airport transit visa (category A) for transit at a German airport:

Afghanistan	Bangladesh	Cuba	Congo (DRC)	Eritrea
Ethiopia	Ghana	India	Iran	Iraq
Jordan ^{*1}	Lebanon	Mali	Nigeria	Pakistan
Somalia	South Sudan	Sri Lanka	Sudan	Syria
Turkey ^{*2}				

Exhaustive list of exceptions on page 2



Exhaustive list of exceptions

Nationals of the above mentioned countries do not require an Airport Transit Visa if

- 1. they hold a valid visa for the United States of America, or
- 2. they hold a used valid or expired visa issued by the US, return from the US and travel to a non-Schengen Member State within 24 hours after the visa expired, or
- 3. they hold one of the following residence permits^{*}:
 - Form I-551 permanent resident card (valid for 2 to 10 years),
 - Form I-551 Alien registration receipt card (valid for 2 to 10 years),
 - Form I-551 Alien registration receipt card (no expiry date),
 - Form I-327 Re-entry document (valid for two years issued to holders of a I-551)
 - Resident alien card (valid for 2 or 10 years or no expiry date. This document guarantees the holder's return only if his stay outside the US has not exceeded one year),
 - Permit to re-enter (valid for 2 years. This document guarantees the holder's return only if his stay outside the US has not exceeded two years),
 - Valid temporary residence stamp in a valid passport (valid for one year from the date of issue).

Please note that the advance parole (I-512) and the approval notice (I-797) are not valid documents for a visa free airport transit. An airport transit visa must be obtained.

- 4. they hold a valid visa and national residence permits from EU and Schengen countries, or
- 5. they hold certain national residence permits from the following countries: Andorra, Japan, Canada, San Marino, or
- 6. they hold a valid visas from the EEA countries (the EU, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland) and visas issued by Japan, Canada.

Please see also the exceptions that apply based on <u>Annex V</u> visa codex.

Other exceptions (see numbers above for specific country):

^{*1} Jordanian nationals do not require an Airport Transit Visa:

- 1. if they hold a visa for either Australia, Israel or New Zealand and the confirmed flight ticket or boarding card for the flight. This applies only to flights to the above-mentioned countries and return flights from these countries to Jordan.
- 2. on their return to Jordan from the above-mentioned countries: confirmed flight ticket or boarding pass is compulsory.
- 3. Transit time in Germany is not to exceed 12 hours in both cases

^{*2} Turkish holders of Service and Official passports do not require an Airport Transit Visa