Welcome

Confronting the Past Abroad

“Confronting the Past Abroad

“Confronting the Past Abroad”, © courtesy of 1014

04.06.2020 - Article

1014: “Confronting the Past Abroad” - A Conversation with Ayham Majid Agha, Mohamed Amjahid, Olga Grjasnowa and Josh Kun on June 14, 2020.

The German Consulate General Recommends:

“Confronting the Past Abroad” - A Conversation with Ayham Majid Agha, Mohamed Amjahid, Olga Grjasnowa and Josh Kun

A program by the Thomas Mann House in cooperation with 1014 and Miry's List.

A quarter of the population in Germany today has a migration background. Many refugees and migrants seek protection from the violence and war atrocities they have experienced in their countries of origin. But their experiences of injustice have so far played only a minor role in the German political public.

In the western German city of Koblenz, a process is currently underway which could help change this. There, the former head of investigation of the Syrian State Security and another former official are accused of torture in several thousand cases and multiple murders. The trial is a sign that the world will not forget. As in the United States, crimes against humanity can be prosecuted by the German justice system even if they were neither committed in Germany nor if Germans were among the perpetrators or victims.

Thomas Mann Fellow Mohamed Amjahid has reported on the groundbreaking trial for the German weekly DIE ZEIT. Together with the writer Olga Grjasnowa, the Syrian theater maker Ayham Majid Agha and the music scholar, author, and curator Josh Kun, he will speak about the violent experiences of migrants in Germany and the US and discuss how these are reflected in contemporary literature, theater, and music.

Online | June 14, 2020 | 2:00 pm - 3:30 pm (New York); 11:00 am – 12:30 pm (Los Angeles); 8:00 pm - 9:30pm (Berlin)

To register visit: 1014

Top of page